• About Me

    I’m an opinionated Grumpy Old Man. I enjoy the intellectual give and take that goes along with that, but have very little patience for stupid people (Note: there is a big difference between “stupid” and “educated”. Some of the stupidest people I’ve ever met have a PhD…). Beside arguing, I like to build things in almost any media. Right now I’m mostly building in wood, Lego, and a bunch of different electronic media. I teach in a number of different venues - from preschool all the way through graduate school. Subjects range from talmud to neuroscience to engineering.

    For fun, I like to bash people with swords (OK, so they’re made of foam. It’s still fun). Although I spend a lot of my time in a wheelchair, I manage to keep pretty active (Like bashing people with swords). I am a libertarian, and have a hard time finding anything good to say about government or politicians. OK, politicians might make good sausage, but that's about as good as it gets.

    Cope

  • VOTE!

    The question: Sould I use more graphics in my posts? I'm lazy, so I don't use them too o ften. If you think more pics would make the blog better, let me know! Simply let me know - email sphyrnatudevote@gmail.com with your vote!
  • Ask Dr. Science has MOVED

    Dr. Science now has his own Blog, so cruise on over to: http://askdoctorscience.wordpress.com to see what's cooking in the lab!
  • May 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

Police’s job – what do you think?

Recently, in my daily perusal of the news, I have noticed a rather dramatic increase in the number of cops being killed by people that have been “targeted” by the cop in question. In general, these people feel that they have no other way to escape police persecution. Earlier this week, I stumbled across an announcement for a discussion about this issue among senior law enforcement officials. I paid my nickel, and listened to the discussion. The participants were police union representatives, senior law enforcement officials, and Chiefs of Police. There were some very interesting points made, but there was one trend through out the discussion that I found disturbing.

Without exception, the people in the discussion felt that the Police’s job was “to protect the public”. Not to uphold or enforce the law. As a matter of fact, there was a strong consensus among the speakers that the police were perfectly justified in ignoring the law if they felt that doing so would “protect the public”. In almost all cases, this came up when the panel was discussing a situation where an individual cop or a group of cops decided that a particular individual or group of individuals represented a “threat to the public”. The police actions following this decision included assault, filing false charges, framing individuals, and fabrication of evidence. The panel agreed that these actions were warranted because they would result in either the individual leaving town or eventually being sent to prison. In every case, the senior police officials argued that the actions of the police were completely justified in order to “protect the public”. The disturbing part: in almost every case, the “threat to public safety” had never committed a crime. The panel admitted that the people had been targeted and set up by the cops simply because a member of the police force felt that the person was a “threat”.

Remember, these were senior law enforcement officials (including some states attorny generals). This wasn’t a bunch of left wing radicals looking to trash the cops….

Please comment. Does this give anyone else the willies?

One Response

  1. […] Police’s job: What do you think ? […]

Leave a Reply

