• About Me

    I’m an opinionated Grumpy Old Man. I enjoy the intellectual give and take that goes along with that, but have very little patience for stupid people (Note: there is a big difference between “stupid” and “educated”. Some of the stupidest people I’ve ever met have a PhD…). Beside arguing, I like to build things in almost any media. Right now I’m mostly building in wood, Lego, and a bunch of different electronic media. I teach in a number of different venues - from preschool all the way through graduate school. Subjects range from talmud to neuroscience to engineering.

    For fun, I like to bash people with swords (OK, so they’re made of foam. It’s still fun). Although I spend a lot of my time in a wheelchair, I manage to keep pretty active (Like bashing people with swords). I am a libertarian, and have a hard time finding anything good to say about government or politicians. OK, politicians might make good sausage, but that's about as good as it gets.

    Cope

  • VOTE!

    The question: Sould I use more graphics in my posts? I'm lazy, so I don't use them too o ften. If you think more pics would make the blog better, let me know! Simply let me know - email sphyrnatudevote@gmail.com with your vote!
  • Ask Dr. Science has MOVED

    Dr. Science now has his own Blog, so cruise on over to: http://askdoctorscience.wordpress.com to see what's cooking in the lab!
  • June 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Meta

The Monday Manifest: things I did this weekend

OK, so we all know that Monday is a tough day to get anything done. Including blogging. So, starting today, instead of blogging (or maybe in addition to), I’ll be posting The Monday Manifest. A list of something or other. This week, I’ll list some thing I did this weekend:

  1. Rest.  A lot. My back is killing me, and I spent a lot of the weekend loafing in the hopes it would get better.
  2. Plant some more seeds. Spring means planting. Hopefully, in a few weeks, I’ll be eating the vegetables of my labour.
  3. Pull weeds. More of the garden type stuff.
  4. Went to a Board Meeting. Believe it or not, it was fun.
  5. Accompanied the Surrogate Family (SF) for Thai food. Yum.
  6. Watched part of “Wallace and Gromit: Attack of the were-Rabbit. Many chuckles.
  7. Watched a recording of Squishy Face (SFSF) singing and playing the Sax.
  8. Pondered the upcoming almost childless summer (bummer)
  9. thought and talked about the way we teach, and how people learn. Critical thinking is a tough thing to teach.
  10. Went to a Bar Mitzvah (It’s a Jewish thing). The young man was one of my students, and it was wonderful to see him perform so well.

 Overall, a pretty decent weekend. Now, back to the drudgery of the work week.

4 Responses

  1. I LOVE Wallace and Gromit!

    Uh, if your back is killing you, should you be weeding??? You know, just saying.

    The whole critical thinking thing has been much on my mind of late, mostly because I recognize the huge forces that undermine those processes – we are not trained to question things ENOUGH, to wonder if maybe what we;re hearing is so much bullshit, to resent the constant attempts to manipulate us into believing one thing or another. When it comes to problem solving, I wrestle with HOW to get my students to see the problems and attempt more than superficial answers. to present arguments that stand up to scrutiny, to be truly critical and not just NICE.

  2. Yeah, weding is OK for the back – as long as I can sit down and I’m gentle about it.
    as for the critical thinking bit, even the hardcore science type university students (the ones that *should* be able to apply problem solving and critical thinking – at least if they want to succeed in the sciences) can’t really problem solve. Many ofthem have a box htat they have figured out a methodology to work in, but it isn’t really critical thinking – it’s more “recipe” problem solving. Don’t get me wrong – it works. As long as you stay in your box. As son as a problem omoves out of their box, they’re lost. If you get one really good problem solver evry 2-3 years, you’re doing OK….

  3. We need to arrange a lunch date; I’d LOVE to be part of this conversation…

  4. yep,. whens good? contact me offline…

Leave a Reply

