• About Me

    I’m an opinionated Grumpy Old Man. I enjoy the intellectual give and take that goes along with that, but have very little patience for stupid people (Note: there is a big difference between “stupid” and “educated”. Some of the stupidest people I’ve ever met have a PhD…). Beside arguing, I like to build things in almost any media. Right now I’m mostly building in wood, Lego, and a bunch of different electronic media. I teach in a number of different venues - from preschool all the way through graduate school. Subjects range from talmud to neuroscience to engineering.

    For fun, I like to bash people with swords (OK, so they’re made of foam. It’s still fun). Although I spend a lot of my time in a wheelchair, I manage to keep pretty active (Like bashing people with swords). I am a libertarian, and have a hard time finding anything good to say about government or politicians. OK, politicians might make good sausage, but that's about as good as it gets.

    Cope

  • VOTE!

    The question: Sould I use more graphics in my posts? I'm lazy, so I don't use them too o ften. If you think more pics would make the blog better, let me know! Simply let me know - email sphyrnatudevote@gmail.com with your vote!
  • Ask Dr. Science has MOVED

    Dr. Science now has his own Blog, so cruise on over to: http://askdoctorscience.wordpress.com to see what's cooking in the lab!
  • June 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Meta

Roomba update

It has been about 6 weeks since I got my Roomba Discovery (robotic vacuum cleaner), and I figured it was time to let folks know how it has done so far. Even though I’ve got a major Source of Canine Fur, I have to say that the Roomba has earned its keep. With the touch of a button, I can vacuum a room. It is quiet enough that I can let it run in the background when I am working, and it doesn’t bug me. If I’m feeling grumpy, I can run it when I’m not home.

Some people had indicated that I would find the dust bin too small, but I haven’t had any problems. I can vacuum my 20X30 foot living room carpet, and the bin will be full, but not overflowing.  It does a great job on the kitchen floor too. It picks up pet fur and normal carpet type debris just fine, and if I’m really tired, I can sit and watch it wander about the floor. More entertaining than most TV today…

So, the places that I see room for improvement.

The biggest one is the cleaning of the brushes. Roomba comes with a little tool that actually does a pretty good job of cutting through all of the cruft that has wrapped itself around the brushes, but it’s still a messy job that takes about 15 minutes. I have to clean the brushes every time I run Roomba through the whole apartment. There is a set of replacement brushes that are supposed to be better for dealing with pet hair, but I haven’t been able to find them anywhere….

Also, the little spinny brush that is supposed to take care of reaching all the way to the edge of the floor tends to get clogged up, and stops rotating. In order to clean it, you have to take out a little screw, which releases the brush, then pick away at the shaft that the brush is mounted on to get rid of all the bits of stuff that have wrapped around it. I’ve only had to do this once, but it was a major PITA.

Other than that, I’m pretty happy. Roomba does have some problems with the feet of a of piece of furniture – the bottom of a trestle sits on the floor, and tapers down to about a 1 1/2 inch tall end, and Roomba tends to climb up it and get stuck. This was not unexpected, but I had hoped it wouldn’t be a problem.

Overall, for folks that can’t run a vacuum, or just plain old don’t like vacuuming, I would definitely give Roomba Discovery a thumbs up. It isn’t all that much more expensive than a decent vacuum cleaner, and so far has performed as expected.

One Response

  1. First , THANK YOU for the increased font size; so much easier to read. Second, your Roomba sounds splendid, despite the occasional PITA (love that), and I want me one to let loose in my kids’ room to combat the dust dinos that dwell under their beds.

Leave a Reply

