• About Me

    I’m an opinionated Grumpy Old Man. I enjoy the intellectual give and take that goes along with that, but have very little patience for stupid people (Note: there is a big difference between “stupid” and “educated”. Some of the stupidest people I’ve ever met have a PhD…). Beside arguing, I like to build things in almost any media. Right now I’m mostly building in wood, Lego, and a bunch of different electronic media. I teach in a number of different venues - from preschool all the way through graduate school. Subjects range from talmud to neuroscience to engineering.

    For fun, I like to bash people with swords (OK, so they’re made of foam. It’s still fun). Although I spend a lot of my time in a wheelchair, I manage to keep pretty active (Like bashing people with swords). I am a libertarian, and have a hard time finding anything good to say about government or politicians. OK, politicians might make good sausage, but that's about as good as it gets.

    Cope

  • VOTE!

    The question: Sould I use more graphics in my posts? I'm lazy, so I don't use them too o ften. If you think more pics would make the blog better, let me know! Simply let me know - email sphyrnatudevote@gmail.com with your vote!
  • Ask Dr. Science has MOVED

    Dr. Science now has his own Blog, so cruise on over to: http://askdoctorscience.wordpress.com to see what's cooking in the lab!
  • July 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Meta

Monay Manifest: Random books from my shelves

This week, In honor of the latest installment of hte Harry Potter insanity, I’m going to go and pull a few random books off my shelves. Out of recognition that Harry Potter will completely dominate anything in the area of fiction for a while, I’m going to stick to reality, and pull from my refrence shelves. I must start by admitting that I am a bibliophile (that means I like books, and I have a lot of them), so the random selection by no means will represent my entire library, just some choice random pull-it-off-the-shelf titles.

  1. Encylopedia of Neuroscience, Vol 1 and 2 OK, so this is two books, but hey, together they make up one. Any yes, I am a brain surgeon (or at least I was).
  2. Cladistic theory and Methodology  Want to figure out how to organize really complex data relationships? thi sis the book for you. About 400 pages of the densest theoretical reading I’ve ever done.
  3. Research Design and Statistical Analysis Yeah, so I’m a geek. Hadn’t you figured that out already?
  4. Burnham’s Celestial Handbook Ever wondered what that little dot up in the night sky is? Ever wanted to be able to locate M875? this is the book for you.
  5. Electronic Communications: Modulation and Transmission everything you ever wanted to know about signal attenuation, where corss-talk comes from, and all kinds of other fun data transmission type stuff.
  6. Design of Machine Elements If you build it they will come…….
  7. Detonation This one is just too much fun. Lots of physics and theory about pressure waves, concussions, and all the fun stuff you get when something blows up. No pictures though.
  8. Devonain Palaeoniscid Fishes Fancy words to talk about a couple of fossil fish.
  9. Artificial Intelligence, A modern Approach I keep hoping I’ll find something that will work on a politician…..
  10. Statistical and Thermal Physics Two great subjects in one book!
  11. Principles of Gene Manipulation so you want to make sure your kids have blue eyes and red hair? Or maybe you just want to invent some cool new virus?Here’s the theory behind it.
  12. Engineering Fluid Mechanics Fluid mechanics has got to be one of the craziest areas of engineering and physics there is. Better than predicting the weather because it has real use in industry.

OK, so there ya go. Plenty of geek fodder there. Maybe next week I’ll take a wander through the fiction…..

2 Responses

  1. YIKES! That’s some pretty weighty stuff! I’ll be interested to see what you have in your fiction pile…

    I didn’t know you were a brain surgeon??

  2. Yep. Granted, most of the brains I operated on were sharks, but hey, that still counts, eh? And my dad was a rocket scientist – for real. He worked on the apollo missions. And my baby sister is an astrophysicist, and my older sister is a chemical engineer, Can you say “Geeks R Us”?

Leave a Reply

