• About Me

    I’m an opinionated Grumpy Old Man. I enjoy the intellectual give and take that goes along with that, but have very little patience for stupid people (Note: there is a big difference between “stupid” and “educated”. Some of the stupidest people I’ve ever met have a PhD…). Beside arguing, I like to build things in almost any media. Right now I’m mostly building in wood, Lego, and a bunch of different electronic media. I teach in a number of different venues - from preschool all the way through graduate school. Subjects range from talmud to neuroscience to engineering.

    For fun, I like to bash people with swords (OK, so they’re made of foam. It’s still fun). Although I spend a lot of my time in a wheelchair, I manage to keep pretty active (Like bashing people with swords). I am a libertarian, and have a hard time finding anything good to say about government or politicians. OK, politicians might make good sausage, but that's about as good as it gets.

    Cope

  • VOTE!

    The question: Sould I use more graphics in my posts? I'm lazy, so I don't use them too o ften. If you think more pics would make the blog better, let me know! Simply let me know - email sphyrnatudevote@gmail.com with your vote!
  • Ask Dr. Science has MOVED

    Dr. Science now has his own Blog, so cruise on over to: http://askdoctorscience.wordpress.com to see what's cooking in the lab!
  • August 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Meta

A CASE OF GRADE INFLATION? « Texas Hold ‘Em Blogger

bozo.gifA CASE OF GRADE INFLATION? « Texas Hold ‘Em Blogger

Apparently, grade inflation is S.O.P at this school

NY Times Source Article – Make sure you read the whole article. The very last line explains why this student needed to pass: She couldn’t afford to go to her senior prom for the third year in a row!

I’d love to be around when the Clue Train flattens both this bimbo and her mom (who claims that she “earned” her grade).

One Response

  1. I haven’t had time to read your links yet, but wanted to chime in that there’s drama at my school about a student I had last term complaining about her failing grade. I had a conference with my boss about her this afternoon. I’m trying to decide whether to blog about it – I’m not sure it’s safe to do so, though; I have the feeing that this could get super-ugly, and I’d like to not expose myself to any kind of risk where this student is concerned….

Leave a Reply

