• About Me

    I’m an opinionated Grumpy Old Man. I enjoy the intellectual give and take that goes along with that, but have very little patience for stupid people (Note: there is a big difference between “stupid” and “educated”. Some of the stupidest people I’ve ever met have a PhD…). Beside arguing, I like to build things in almost any media. Right now I’m mostly building in wood, Lego, and a bunch of different electronic media. I teach in a number of different venues - from preschool all the way through graduate school. Subjects range from talmud to neuroscience to engineering.

    For fun, I like to bash people with swords (OK, so they’re made of foam. It’s still fun). Although I spend a lot of my time in a wheelchair, I manage to keep pretty active (Like bashing people with swords). I am a libertarian, and have a hard time finding anything good to say about government or politicians. OK, politicians might make good sausage, but that's about as good as it gets.

    Cope

  • VOTE!

    The question: Sould I use more graphics in my posts? I'm lazy, so I don't use them too o ften. If you think more pics would make the blog better, let me know! Simply let me know - email sphyrnatudevote@gmail.com with your vote!
  • Ask Dr. Science has MOVED

    Dr. Science now has his own Blog, so cruise on over to: http://askdoctorscience.wordpress.com to see what's cooking in the lab!
  • August 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Meta

making faces at the airport could get you arrested.

If you thought the whole 1984 George Orwell thing was just fiction, take a read here:

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/20298840/site/newsweek/

Turns out that if your “body language” or “facial expression” indicates that you are a “risk”, the “Behavior Detection Officers” (No, I’m notmaking that up – I wish I were)  will be watching for you, and will be ready to whisk you away to who knows where for who knows how long (We can count on the fact that it will be long enough to make you miss your flight, thereby ensuring that you will be grumpy, angry, pissed off, and of course, will then trigger the next behavior detection officer you happen to meet….).

So, you still think the cops need a reason to arrest you? Yep, they do. But now the reason ca be as simple as “I didn’t like the way (s)he looked”.

But hey, remember: these are “trained professionals”. They get a whole 16 hours of training to ensure that they really know what they are doing. That way they can really tell if you’re just running late and grumpy, or if you have a neutron bomb hidden in your shorts. So there ya go. You thought airport cops were power tripping pricks before? Now they have full authority to do whatever they want to you for absolutely no reason. And there isn’t anything you can do. Have a nice trip.

One Response

  1. […] to a tip off from The Anonymous SoapBox I found while tag surfing, I learned from MSNBC/Newsweek about the new Behaviour Detection Officers […]

Leave a Reply

