• About Me

    I’m an opinionated Grumpy Old Man. I enjoy the intellectual give and take that goes along with that, but have very little patience for stupid people (Note: there is a big difference between “stupid” and “educated”. Some of the stupidest people I’ve ever met have a PhD…). Beside arguing, I like to build things in almost any media. Right now I’m mostly building in wood, Lego, and a bunch of different electronic media. I teach in a number of different venues - from preschool all the way through graduate school. Subjects range from talmud to neuroscience to engineering.

    For fun, I like to bash people with swords (OK, so they’re made of foam. It’s still fun). Although I spend a lot of my time in a wheelchair, I manage to keep pretty active (Like bashing people with swords). I am a libertarian, and have a hard time finding anything good to say about government or politicians. OK, politicians might make good sausage, but that's about as good as it gets.

    Cope

  • VOTE!

    The question: Sould I use more graphics in my posts? I'm lazy, so I don't use them too o ften. If you think more pics would make the blog better, let me know! Simply let me know - email sphyrnatudevote@gmail.com with your vote!
  • Ask Dr. Science has MOVED

    Dr. Science now has his own Blog, so cruise on over to: http://askdoctorscience.wordpress.com to see what's cooking in the lab!
  • August 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Meta

Coffee angst

caffeine.gifSo, today was an early morning for me. As I stumbled towards the shower, I fired up the old coffee machine, just like I always do. When I got out of the shower, it was to find a large puddle of coffee on the counter, floor, and dribbled into the cabinet under the coffee maker. Feh.

Some history: Back In The Day (Me Peabody, set The Way Back drowning_in_coffee.gifMachine to “University”.) I was a coffee junkie. Hardcore. I would drink (literally) over a gallon of high octane espresso every day. I drank it out of a pint beer mug. I started and ended my day with coffee. There was a time on the espresso machine to ensure that I could get that first hit as soon as I could find my way to the kitchen in the morning. I have reduced my coffee intake to a cup a day, and moved to generic Mr. Coffee type machines.

These coffee machines are, plain and simple, Crap. But hey, for less than $20, what should I expect. Anyway, after I cleaned up the coffee flood, I pulled out the old camping sit-on-the-stovetop percolator, and fired it up. I did manage to get my morning coffee – fortunately I didn’t have anyplace I had to be this morning, but this has finally driven me to the decision I’ve been kicking around for the past couple of years. It’s time to break down and get a french press.

5 Responses

  1. Coffee is a taste I have never acquired. Love the smell, hate the flavor (to the point where I don’t even like mocha…).

    I feel a little left out sometimes, and I really think that I could benefit, every once in a while, from the caffeine hit. Still, I’m glad to not have that particular addiction; there’s enough in my life as it is (chocolate) without adding another obsession, you know?

  2. yep, I can completely relate. Besides, you can get caffeine from tea too…

  3. Target has all sizes of french presses, very nice price too!!

  4. and target.com will mail it to your door.

  5. Despite a dear friend’s admonition, when I complained about the consistency of my preferred coffee-making method, to RTFM from the French press, we use one such devise. Gleefully. Even if the manual says it doesn’t like coarse grounds as they can bollix up the sieve thingies. Whatevah

Leave a Reply

