• About Me

    I’m an opinionated Grumpy Old Man. I enjoy the intellectual give and take that goes along with that, but have very little patience for stupid people (Note: there is a big difference between “stupid” and “educated”. Some of the stupidest people I’ve ever met have a PhD…). Beside arguing, I like to build things in almost any media. Right now I’m mostly building in wood, Lego, and a bunch of different electronic media. I teach in a number of different venues - from preschool all the way through graduate school. Subjects range from talmud to neuroscience to engineering.

    For fun, I like to bash people with swords (OK, so they’re made of foam. It’s still fun). Although I spend a lot of my time in a wheelchair, I manage to keep pretty active (Like bashing people with swords). I am a libertarian, and have a hard time finding anything good to say about government or politicians. OK, politicians might make good sausage, but that's about as good as it gets.

    Cope

  • VOTE!

    The question: Sould I use more graphics in my posts? I'm lazy, so I don't use them too o ften. If you think more pics would make the blog better, let me know! Simply let me know - email sphyrnatudevote@gmail.com with your vote!
  • Ask Dr. Science has MOVED

    Dr. Science now has his own Blog, so cruise on over to: http://askdoctorscience.wordpress.com to see what's cooking in the lab!
  • August 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Meta

Monday Manifest: Random Thoughts

As I get ready for the start of yet another school year, here are some random thoughts from the inner reaches of my mind (and man!, is it dark in there…)

  1. Alberto is retreating. Good riddance. However, his comments about “protecting american civil liberties” are so insane as to be insulting.
  2. I have no tolerance for stupid people. People that buy the load of bullcrap about Gonzales being a “defender of american civil liberties” count not only as stupid, but also as moronic, unthinking, brainless, idiotic, mindless, simple, and unintelligent.
  3. Most of the people attending University should be at a community college learning basic skills.
  4. Most students at community colleges should still be in high school, learning skills even more basic than those in #3.
  5. Teaching kids in school is the second most rewarding job I’ve ever had. Hopefully, most of my students will not fall into the populations included in #3 and #4. I do my best, but the public schools make it almost impossible to educate.
  6. Teaching kids in private blows away teaching in schools. Private teaching means being able to ignore all the crap that you have to put up with when teaching in public schools. You can actually teach! (and the kids can really learn!)
  7. Home made pickles are the best. Especially when they are made from home-grown organic cukes. Yum!
  8. School starts in a couple of days. I have dreams (nightmares?) about lesson plans.
  9. Windows Vista really is as bad as everyone says. Avoid it if at all possible.
  10. This year, I will have one of my lowest student counts ever. Current estimates come out around 78 ranging from second grade to senior citizens. The question is: how long will it take me to learn all of their names?

So there ya go. Another Monday Manifest from the dregs of the brain…..

2 Responses

  1. AMEN to number 4. I’m going to post an entry, in a day or two, about the absolute ATROCITY of a student of mine, who can’t compose a coherent sentence in English, having passed a composition class last term with a C. I want to know what knucklehead passed this kid….

  2. So sad, that these students don’t see that narrowness doesn’t work when it comes to a bevy of knowledge. Xenophobes are very frightening to me. Why is it that some religions cannot be questioned and analysized? It worries me when one loses the ability to think for oneself.
    I went back to college a few years ago and was appalled at the lack of general knowledge the students presented.
    That’s why your blog is a refreshing rain that is surely needed on this parched land.

Leave a Reply

