• About Me

    I’m an opinionated Grumpy Old Man. I enjoy the intellectual give and take that goes along with that, but have very little patience for stupid people (Note: there is a big difference between “stupid” and “educated”. Some of the stupidest people I’ve ever met have a PhD…). Beside arguing, I like to build things in almost any media. Right now I’m mostly building in wood, Lego, and a bunch of different electronic media. I teach in a number of different venues - from preschool all the way through graduate school. Subjects range from talmud to neuroscience to engineering.

    For fun, I like to bash people with swords (OK, so they’re made of foam. It’s still fun). Although I spend a lot of my time in a wheelchair, I manage to keep pretty active (Like bashing people with swords). I am a libertarian, and have a hard time finding anything good to say about government or politicians. OK, politicians might make good sausage, but that's about as good as it gets.

    Cope

  • VOTE!

    The question: Sould I use more graphics in my posts? I'm lazy, so I don't use them too o ften. If you think more pics would make the blog better, let me know! Simply let me know - email sphyrnatudevote@gmail.com with your vote!
  • Ask Dr. Science has MOVED

    Dr. Science now has his own Blog, so cruise on over to: http://askdoctorscience.wordpress.com to see what's cooking in the lab!
  • August 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Meta

Kids in the Shop: Fall building kick-off

lumber.jpgWith the school year starting up, I should have a bit more time to spend in the shop, and the list of things to make always seems to exceed the time available. Yesterday was the annual fall trip to the lumberyard. We’re not talking Home Despot, this is a real lumberyard – huge stacks of all kinds of high quality hardwoods – both domestic and exotics.

Not that I don’t have piles of lumber already filling the shop – I do. But this is Special. Every year, I pick a couple of projects that are beyond the “we really need another bookshelf”. Projects that I do simply so that I can make something using hand tools, precision joinery, and fine lumber instead of power tools, plywood and quick-and-dirty furniture grade stuff. This years haul includes Black Walnut, Cherry, and Curly Maple, with a bunch of poplar thrown in for drawer sides and backs. I only have one special project this year, and I’ve been fine tuning the design for about 4 months. Yesterday I spent about 3 hours at the lumberyard picking out the best colored, nicest grained stuff I could find. today I get to start turning the boards into something else. This project is a surprise for someone, so there won’t be pics until after it is presented, but I will be keeping a picture log, which will be posted later…

The best part is that the Small Ones will get to help – at least the ones that want to. The youngest is need of a new dresser, and has been working on a design for a few weeks. Of course, a lot of the design has been what exactly to paint on it…. The other small ones have their own ongoing projects – boxes, cut-outs, etc. They made cutting boards last season, so we’ll see what they come up with for this year.

Stay Tuned for more Kids in the Shop

One Response

  1. http://pressposts.com/Politics/Kids-in-Shop-Fall-building-kick-off/

    Submited post on PressPosts.com – “Kids in the Shop: Fall building kick-off”

Leave a Reply

