• About Me

    I’m an opinionated Grumpy Old Man. I enjoy the intellectual give and take that goes along with that, but have very little patience for stupid people (Note: there is a big difference between “stupid” and “educated”. Some of the stupidest people I’ve ever met have a PhD…). Beside arguing, I like to build things in almost any media. Right now I’m mostly building in wood, Lego, and a bunch of different electronic media. I teach in a number of different venues - from preschool all the way through graduate school. Subjects range from talmud to neuroscience to engineering.

    For fun, I like to bash people with swords (OK, so they’re made of foam. It’s still fun). Although I spend a lot of my time in a wheelchair, I manage to keep pretty active (Like bashing people with swords). I am a libertarian, and have a hard time finding anything good to say about government or politicians. OK, politicians might make good sausage, but that's about as good as it gets.

    Cope

  • VOTE!

    The question: Sould I use more graphics in my posts? I'm lazy, so I don't use them too o ften. If you think more pics would make the blog better, let me know! Simply let me know - email sphyrnatudevote@gmail.com with your vote!
  • Ask Dr. Science has MOVED

    Dr. Science now has his own Blog, so cruise on over to: http://askdoctorscience.wordpress.com to see what's cooking in the lab!
  • September 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Meta

Holy Vegetables Batman!

cornucopia.jpgWell folks, besides it being the “back to school” season, here in SoapBox land, it is also the start of “harvest season”. Well, not really the start – we’ve been getting peas and beans for over a month, but the amount of harvest has skyrocketed.

Here’s a little secret about home gardening: you never know what is going to do well from year to year. Well, almost never. Zucchini is hopelessly prolific, but other than that, it is kind of  a crap shoot. About two weeks ago, we crossed a major threshold in late summer gardening. We had so many bush beans that we simply could not keep up with them. Despite heroic efforts from the small ones, and the placing of a bowl of fresh picked beans next to the computer (for snacky munching), it was simply impossible to keep up. Then the Cucumbers caught up. Then the tomatoes. The carrots are looking pretty threatening, as are the peppers.

jars.jpgWhat to do? Simple. In an amazing regression to my junior high school days, a quick trip through the bookshelves yielded a slew of recipes and methods for taking the excess, and doing things to it so that it would not spoil before it could be eaten. So, enter a new category: “preserves”. This category will have my favorite recipes and methods of dealing with excess produce. Of course, should you lack a garden, you can always run off to the local grocery store and pick up some “excess” there. Share and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

