• About Me

    I’m an opinionated Grumpy Old Man. I enjoy the intellectual give and take that goes along with that, but have very little patience for stupid people (Note: there is a big difference between “stupid” and “educated”. Some of the stupidest people I’ve ever met have a PhD…). Beside arguing, I like to build things in almost any media. Right now I’m mostly building in wood, Lego, and a bunch of different electronic media. I teach in a number of different venues - from preschool all the way through graduate school. Subjects range from talmud to neuroscience to engineering.

    For fun, I like to bash people with swords (OK, so they’re made of foam. It’s still fun). Although I spend a lot of my time in a wheelchair, I manage to keep pretty active (Like bashing people with swords). I am a libertarian, and have a hard time finding anything good to say about government or politicians. OK, politicians might make good sausage, but that's about as good as it gets.

    Cope

  • VOTE!

    The question: Sould I use more graphics in my posts? I'm lazy, so I don't use them too o ften. If you think more pics would make the blog better, let me know! Simply let me know - email sphyrnatudevote@gmail.com with your vote!
  • Ask Dr. Science has MOVED

    Dr. Science now has his own Blog, so cruise on over to: http://askdoctorscience.wordpress.com to see what's cooking in the lab!
  • December 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Jan »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Meta

man, do I hate that whole Xmass thing….

grinch.jpgSo call me the grinch. That whole xmass present orgy, month of sappy songs crap just does nothing for me. Except make me reallyglad I’m Jewish.  Being Jewish means I don’t have to worry about xmass presents (I won’t call is christmas because it has nothingto do with religion any more – except worship of the all-holy buck, materialism, and consumerism). So, as grudging acknowledgement of the orgy of consumerism that the next few weeks will represent, here is my Xmass posting. Chappy Chanukkah, Cherry mixmaster, and all that crap. Now get back to work.

 Things I won’t do this month:

  1. Go to the mall. Any mall. While you are all running around like crazy running up your credit card bills, I’ll be sitting at home sipping something toasty, and laughing.
  2. For that matter, I won’t go shopping. screw the mall. I’ll stay out of all the stores except the grocery store. Heh. I’ll even avoid that for the week or so before Xmass.
  3. listen to crappy xmass music. It started before thanksgiving, and I’ve turned off my radio in favor of records (yay vinyl), CDs, and Ipod. Sometime around New Years, I may return to radio, but certainly not before then.
  4. Pretend that I care about people I really don’t give a crap about. Hey gang, MY holiday celebrates a military victory over yet another government bent on destroying my ancestors. In that particular event, my ancestors kicked the living crap out of their tormentors. Now THAT’s something worth celebrating.
  5. make the slightest effort to make anyone think I give a crap about the whole xmass thing. Show me the folks that are spending the day in church, doing their 6AM mass, midnight mass, and the whole shebang, and I’ll acknowledge that there are a few folks out there that can actually recall what Christmas means. Oh yeah, they’re also the ones that aren;t participating in the whole Buy Buy Buy thing…..

So there ya go. Go on ouot, ramp up your debt, and do your best to boost the economy. I’ll sit home, ignore the whole idiotic orgy, and enjoy the fact that I don’t feel obligated to buy present on demand. I can wait until I find something that actually has meaning, deliver it as a surprise, and make somebodies day.

6 Responses

  1. Heh, heh, heh…

  2. Laughing and commenting simultaneously.

    I’ve been dubbed Scrooge by a few people because I feel the same as you.

    MY holiday celebrates a military victory over yet another government bent on destroying my ancestors. In that particular event, my ancestors kicked the living crap out of their tormentors. Now THAT’s something worth celebrating.

    *sticks tongue out at tormenters* Neener neener! So there!

    In response to your about:

    Stupid people are downers and there’s more than enough of that in the world. I like to bash people with swords too, but never tried it with foam. Talmud- interesting, been on my reading list for a long time. Even if I weren’t vegetarian I’d be dubious about politician sausage…food poisoning and not nearly as good as they look or say they are- no thanks.

    On that note, bah humbug.

  3. talmud is good reading, but a bit long. The version I have is 70 volumes of a about 250 pages each….

  4. I’m all for good reading, which is why my reading list is so bloody long. So much good stuff out there.

  5. Having recently watched two versions of Dicken’s Christmas Carol, I was reminded how much, particularly since the Victorian era that really established this culture’s definition of the holiday, this season has lost its sense of family/sharing/good will to all attitude. Now it’s about how much a person spends. Yuck, eh?

  6. I think the biggest change came post WW2, when the last remnant of any religion left the holiday (other than as marketing tools), and xmass became a spasm of mandatory consumerism. Kinda funny how our current retail economy depends on xmass. Imagine what would happen if there was a boycott of xmass shopping….

Leave a Reply

