• About Me

    I’m an opinionated Grumpy Old Man. I enjoy the intellectual give and take that goes along with that, but have very little patience for stupid people (Note: there is a big difference between “stupid” and “educated”. Some of the stupidest people I’ve ever met have a PhD…). Beside arguing, I like to build things in almost any media. Right now I’m mostly building in wood, Lego, and a bunch of different electronic media. I teach in a number of different venues - from preschool all the way through graduate school. Subjects range from talmud to neuroscience to engineering.

    For fun, I like to bash people with swords (OK, so they’re made of foam. It’s still fun). Although I spend a lot of my time in a wheelchair, I manage to keep pretty active (Like bashing people with swords). I am a libertarian, and have a hard time finding anything good to say about government or politicians. OK, politicians might make good sausage, but that's about as good as it gets.

    Cope

  • VOTE!

    The question: Sould I use more graphics in my posts? I'm lazy, so I don't use them too o ften. If you think more pics would make the blog better, let me know! Simply let me know - email sphyrnatudevote@gmail.com with your vote!
  • Ask Dr. Science has MOVED

    Dr. Science now has his own Blog, so cruise on over to: http://askdoctorscience.wordpress.com to see what's cooking in the lab!
  • January 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Sep »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

Why I won’t vote for Obama

Don’t get me wrong, the “big O” definitely has mass appeal. He was definitely on my list for consideration. The past 2 weeks have moved him solidly from a “maybe” to a no way this side of a snowball in hell”.

So, why the change? the Big 0 has not changed any of his positions (or made any of them any more clear, realistic, or achievable – but hey, that’s true of ALL the candidates). He hasn’t made any major social missteps at his campaign stops. He has a ton of people supporting him. The problem is that his campaign refuses to leave me alone. My phone number is unlisted, “do not called”, and otherwise kept out of the phone spam lists every way possible. Somehow, the Obama campaign got my cell phone number anyway. That’s OK – they are not he only campaign that has called me. They are, however, the only campaign that has called me every single damn day for the past 2 weeks. They have interrupted dinner, business meetings, family time, and left me countless voice-mail messages. Despite frequent requests to be removed from their call list, they continue to call me daily. Today, I filed a complaint with the FCC. Maybe that will make a difference.

At this point, it doesn’t matter what his positions are, what his history is, what he stands for, represents, or even how much he offers to pay me to vote for him,. ain’t no way it will ever happen. He has invaded my personal life at a level that is bordering on harassment, and that is simply inexcusable. Other campaigns that have called me are polite, and somehow manage to be well enough organized to only call once – a request to be left alone works. Either his campaign is so unorganized that it cannot accomplish this simple task, or it simply doesn’t care. Either situation is a poor indication of how Obama would function in the white house.

Sorry man, you blew, you lost my vote for this campaign, and all future campaigns.

One Response

  1. I HATE living in Campaign Land. Hate. It.

Leave a Reply

